This town was built on nepotism, the old boy network. Because it is so.

One Imperative is a thematic Art/Lit zine curated by Jeremy Fernando, to which I’m a regular contributor. The past issue, Issue 9′s theme is Literary (re)view, it’s here: http://www.oneimperative.com/2013/01/09-reviews/.  However, I was worried that people didn’t pay attention at all, and still more important, something I read today on Facebook made me feel necessary to repost. This time I even did copy & paste. See how desperate I am to get my message across?

Tight-fisted words

(Integrating quotations from a literary text into a literary analysis)

By Julie O’Yang

1.

“…The peonies in front of the entrance suggests something splendidly Chinese,”

spoke Lady Saisho.

“No,” I answered, “now that they dislike me so much, I start to dislike them too.”

“You must try to see the whole thing with a mild eye,” she smiled.

Afterwards I went to visit the Empress. I couldn’t find out what she

really thought about the matter. However, I caught her words when she

whispered to the Ladies: “Well, you know, she is on friendly terms with Minister

of the Left and his circle.”

While I was leaving the room, I saw they were busy gossiping. But as

soon as they saw me, they stopped talking all of a sudden and everyone

went back to work. I was not used to the way they treated me and felt

badly hurt. Since the incident, Her Majesty had sent for me several

times, and I ignored her requests and didn’t visit her again for a long

time. Undoubtedly, the Ladies insisted that I belonged to the side of her

enemies and they spread all sorts of lies about me.

From The Pillow Book by Sei Shōnagon (清少納言), c. 966–1017

2.

It is the nature of the artist to mind excessively what is said about him.

Literature is strewn with the wreckage of men who have minded beyond

reason the opinions of others.

Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

***

I honestly think you should go back to earlier issues to find more one imperatives.  It’s from the energetic, sparkling Asia — because it is so — and it’s right here: http://www.oneimperative.com/

Jeremy Fernando is a Singaporean poet, writer, philosopher and critic, and his latest book, Writing Death, is an almost-perfect combination of these vocations. Recently described in a Singaporean magazine as “Asia’s Sexiest Philosopher”.

Because it is so.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gimme butterfly kisses!, Picnic on literature, Reviews

Leave a Reply

