To understand me, you need to have had near-death experience ;)

…We live not according to reasons but according to fashion. All right, I tell you what I’m wearing today. A basic cotton shirt with a cardigan, shawl, sweater plus a great, light brown throw-over. I know, I’m over-doing the layered clothing trend and I look like a top-heavy Siberian bear ready to disappear into my den for several months to hibernate. The truth is I like to turn off the heater in my room when I sit down at my desk to write. I just enjoy cold thoughts more, and in northern Europe where I live, these thoughts can be like FREEZING in the winter. Anyway, I was talking about the idea “layered”.

You need to go back to an ultra short story of mine, A Science of Discontent. Open the link and read the post first before you decide to exit or go on to finish reading me.

https://julieoyang.wordpress.com/2012/12/04/on-planet-betty-turandu-lei-ying-humans-watch-an-entirely-different-kind-of-soap-opera-check-out/

Now you know something about this weird place called Betty’s planet. You may think: “Wtf. What’s she doing? I don’t get it.” Don’t worry, I get “I don’t get it” often. I’m going to peel off my Siberian layers to show you some heavenly pearls around my neck —

Here are some clues for you to understand our brilliant Betty Turandu and her home.

1. Pythagoras: Harmony of the Spheres.

2. Cicero’s classic piece Scipio’s dream & the near-death experience

http://ancienthistory.about.com/library/bl/bl_text_cic_scipiodream.htm

[*Bernard Field, in the preface to his History of Science Fiction, cited Scipio’s vision of the Earth as seen from a big height as a forerunner of modern science fiction writers describing the experience of flying in orbit — particularly noting the similarity between Scipio’s realization that Rome is but a small part of the Earth with similar feeling by characters in Arthur C. Clarke’s works. —Wikipedia]

3. Listen to W A Mozart’s version of the “soul journey”. Wolfgang composed the opera when he was 15.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdgAmNZyqwc

“A woman’s dress should be like a barbed-wire fence: serving its purpose without obstructing the view.”  So I design my layered dreams. I like classics, they are always modern.

Layered fruit by Curated Consumption

Layered fruit by Curated Consumption

2 Comments

Filed under Picnic on literature, Uncategorized

2 responses to “To understand me, you need to have had near-death experience ;)

  1. Thank You Lady will be reading later today once I have attended all me meetings in the SNOW……..yippeeeee its snowing here in UK x Wish you were here x

    ________________________________

  2. Pingback: Oops I didn’t know I was pregnant | Julie O'Yang Novelist | visual artist

Leave a Reply

