A dangerous liaison?

A few days ago I received an email from an American journalist friend who is based in China. He sent through a link to an article with the alarming title “American conservative group makes inroads into China’s classrooms”.

C-R-E-E-P-Y!

Further reading revealed that it’s an organisation called Focus on the Family (google it), which within a short time period has gained its major toehold in Chinese middle school and university classrooms to teach its “No Apologies” (无悔今生) strategy for rejecting premarital sex. I saw immediately a doom secenario with what’s happening. But suppose this time the Dragon and the Eagle are united in a liaison dangereuse, we are royally screwed! Much worse than that!

To understand my mental leap and why this guy James Dobson thinks himself the next Confucius, you need to do a little bit homework and go back to an article I posted in June, in which I shed some light on Confucianism; how an age-old idea is now revamped and abused by the regime to manipulate people’s mind. You can quickly go through my article & find relevant information on the subject.

Now tell me I’m not mad.

My mental leap in the evening went further and drifted in search of some funny stuff to distract myself from the strange taste in my mouth; I’m a convinced follower of the Fun Theory, that you can achieve more through fun than two hundred years of German thinkers.

Untold Scandal  is the Korean interpretation of the 18th-century French novel Les Liaisons dangereuses by Pierre Choderlos de Laclos. Watch the clip.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A dangerous liaison?

  1. “Focus on the Famly” may well be teaming up with for-profit adoption agencies here in the United States. That would be an effective collaboration, I think.

  2. Very interesting points. Thanks!

    My blog:
    cout rachat credit http://www.rachatdecredit.net

  3. I am familiar with James Dobson and his “Focus on the Family” By familiar in no way do I mean I know him personally. I am aware his take on Christianity is quite conservative. I don’t mind that. What does bother me is his insistence that everybody must believe as he does.
    He is responsible for the English Standard Version Bible. It is based on the Revised Standard Version. The RSV begat the New Revised Standard Version. The King James begat the RSV. INHO the ESV reads very well with clear, understandable, yet interesting language. My point being that Dobson may be a rightwinger but his ESV is a beautiful translation.

Leave a Reply

