Dante Alighieri: A music clip

“Vide Cor Meum” in Latin means see my heart. The words are taken from Dante’s La Vita Nuova (The New Life) where Dante describes a vision he had and asks for help in interpreting it. As Dante tells it, when he was 9, he fell in love with a little girl he called Beatrice. He only saw her in passing but was soon obsessed with her. Nine years later he sees her again. This time she says hello. Dante, overwhelmed by Love, goes back to his room and “thinking of her, sweet sleep overcame” him. Then, he sees the vision of Love holding a woman (Beatrice) wrapped in a veil. Love says: “I am your master.” One hand clenching a heart on fire, Love speaks to Dante: “Vide cor tuum: See your heart”. Love then wakes Beatrice and feeds Dante’s burning heart to her, which she reluctantly eats. Love becomes very sad and takes Beatrice with him up toward heaven.

In the following film fragment, Dante’s grimness comes together with music by Hans Zimmer & exquisite imagery from Sofia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette.

And thinking of her / Sweet sleep overcame me / I am your master / See your heart /And of this burning heart / Your heart / She trembling / Obediently eats / Weeping, I saw him then depart from me / Joy is /converted / To bitterest tears / I am in peace / My heart / I am in peace/ See my heart

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Dante Alighieri: A music clip

  1. elfasura

    Exquisite.

  2. :”D Nee-san, thx for the Share :”D Happy days

  3. hemant

    Fascinating

Leave a Reply

